Moment of glory

8 Oct

Nyjer Morgan enjoys a champagne bath after singling home the winning run in the Brewers' walk-off 3-2 win over the Arizona Diamondback in game 5 of the 2011 NLDS

I remember a line from a sports-themed movie called “The Replacements”, football plot but nonetheless sports, where the character played by actor Keanu Reeves has the uncanny semblance in a critical point of a football game to know the next play will be the difference (a tongue-in-cheek wow! no way!).  As he huddles the guys he says to them:

“I wish I could say something classy and inspirational, but that just wouldn’t be our style. Pain heals, chicks love scars, glory lasts forever. It’s been an honor sharing the field of battle with you.”

It is true, pain does eventually go away.  And i’m pretty sure if I had any, my wife would be impressed with my scar and the story that went with it.  But the greatest feeling, for both fans and the athletes themselves i’m sure, is seizing the opportunity and have a moment be remembered forever.  For Nyjer Morgan, that opportunity was last night, game five, of the 2011 NLDS.  For all his crazy antics, energy, and personalities that come along with the man, I have to look beyond all of that and remind myself he really is one heck of a ballplayer.  Tonight that chaotic ballplayer’s lore will be remembered forever.  During his postgame celebration, a reporter asked Morgan why he was sitting cross-legged on the floor with a can of Miller Lite.  “I’m thinking about my grandfather, man,” he said. “I wish he was here to see this. I lost him in May. He’s the only one who played baseball in my family.”  Morgan then poured some of his beer on the carpet in memory of Frank Morgan.  “Here you go, buddy,” he said. “It’s pretty cool. Pretty cool, man.”  In the midst of his own chaos, even Tony Clutch had the semblance to remember who helped him get to his moment of glory.

Leave a Reply

