Tag Archives: Stagg Trophy

BigTen football championship trophy is renamed

14 Nov

Bowing to the pressure caused by the sexual assault scandal, the BigTen conference announced today they are officially renaming the football championship trophy as the “Stagg Trophy” from “Stagg-Paterno Trophy”.  This will be awarded to the winner of the inaugural conference football championship game on December 3rd, 2011.  The remaining namesake on this trophy, Amos Alonzo Stagg, was a standout coach and football innovator at the University of Chicago from 1892-1932.  The University of Chicago was a founding member of the BigTen conference in 1896, and they remained until exiting in 1946 after de-emphasizing varsity athletics after World War II.

Given the recent events unfolding in State College, PA I am not surprised by such a move.  Everyone and everybody is trying to distance themselves from this particular scandal.  In the end, just another sad story in the legacy of Joe Paterno.